Ask me anything about Composition/Harmony/Form/Piano

jaycentury

Alot of the threads ive read in this subject are very very specific.

I've been playing piano for 15 years, and studying theory for 10. I study composition and performance in piano in University In Montreal, and have done pretty good for myself in finding jobs and gigs around town, writing for commercials and working on Indie Films. I've written music for EPICMEALTIME, and 3 Loco. (Dirt Nasty, Andy Milinakis, Riff Raff) and others.

I believe theory and composition are very important and could change the way a new producer makes their music... even if they have just a general understanding of progression, harmony, and theory in general.

Il be able to answer any questions about music theory.
...Although the best type of study and learning is by listening. So keep listening and listening to the type of music that YOU want to make. SET THE BAR HIGH... And be hard on yourself.

Il be on this whole week. Cheers

Jay

Yo jay I have a big problem at making my melodies and chords sound well together basically i don't know how to harmonise. It would be a huge help of you could give me some tips or any suggestions . Thx

what notes are in your melody?

from there we can cover potential chords to use and then decide on possible alternative renderings that will work

thats a hard task seeing that i cant hear your beat, and you probably not knowing what key your track is in. Solo first your chords and then your melody, see which one you really like better then i could try and help you formulate something better. Youtube "tutorial on harmonic progression"