anybody ever feel....

P

punnisher9

IM a newbie producer...DONT HAVE 1 TRACK UNDER MY BELt yet...maybe its me, maybe im dumb, maybe i suck...but, i aint gettin nothing from my brain...nothing that resembles music pops out when i pop my mpc pads...
anybody ever feel they jus weren't getting a melody, a bassline, whatever...i jus cant get anything..
is this common in the beginning? ive only had my equipment for about 4 days...
WILL music start coming to me?
any tips, techniques on how to begin a track...ANYTHING!
please, holla at me..

thanx people

just imagine what you want and try and duplicate it with your mpc. sounds like you just need practice. sometimes it takes years to make good music.

I'd say u gotta stop trying to make music and just look for inspiration. Listen to as many different genres as you can. Get yourself stuck right into the music until its just bursting to get out. MRT could be right tho, maybe its just not your thing. I started to make music cos i had all this crazy stuff in my head that needed to be released or i would explode. Remember, you're only 4 days old, stick with it and if your heart's in it, you'll get better.

But to be more practical, i would suggest just laying down a simple kick, snare, kick, snare and just grooving to that for a bit. Hum some melodies or something, and when you find one you like, replicate it on the MPC. Think about where you want the beat to thump or ride along, and emphasise this with the lengths and pitches of your notes. And its also a nice thing to hear the drums and melodies working together, and you're not limited to one melody either. You can layer up as much you like. Once you get used to arranging, just wait until you gotta start learning what a compressor does.....

And remember to post in the review forum, most of us are happy to give detailed feedback. Welcome to FP, Peace!

Could you describe better your problem in order to help you?????

seems a completely normal problem...