Why do I suck at making beats?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a beginner and get frustrated too, so I am taking a break and am brushing up on music theory. I have a basic understanding of the base concepts but need to step my game up. My advice would be to get in the theory books and get a book or two on composition. There are a couple of dummies guides that are great.

Don't be afraid to learn theory or think it will stifle any creativity because that is straight up bullshit. Knowing the theory would only help your creativity rather than hinder it. If you slap together something without knowing about theory and it sounds good - that's music theory at work. If you know about the theory you will know why it sounds good and you will be better able to make a beat. It really doesn't take too much learning to get to grips with chords/scales/ other basics and they will help a lot especially when you start.

That and as has been said practice practice practice and just go in and have fun - something I admittedly have to work on which is why I am taking a break. Just compose over and over, don't try for a masterpiece just practice. When it stops being fun stop trying to make a beat and have a break.

You could also try dissecting and analysing beats you like to get an insight to how the producers you like craft their beats. I am a beginner to it but I found it help to learn how the songs are structured, how their drums work, how their harmonic rhythm is and how they worked the melody.

Last edited:
2 years is not a lot of time when it comes to something as complex as music, I've been producing since 2006 and I feel like I'm still only scratching on the surface of what is possible.

You should try switching up your production techniques. Start with different instruments than you usually start with. Try starting a beat with a harp sound, or a shaker loop. If you start with drums usually than try next time with a bass line or melody.