Where do you go after you got chord progession?

freeones

Ok I got my chord progression down. I always come up with chords tht sound nice together. But what do you guys do after you have it. I'm really new to this so i wanted to find out if there r different techniques to coming up with nice melodies and play it together in different ways to make it sounds nice and hot

it depends for me, on how creative i actually am at the moment lol....the chord progression is usually the easy part, tho sometimes it can challenge me.....but usually i'll lay down the progression....and since i know what scale i'm using, and what keys are in that scale, i'll jam around until i find a melody or bassline...depends which instrument i'm on at the moment....and just keep on building.. theres really not 1 set method, as it really does vary from track to track

google and youtube are your friends.....theres tons of websites and video tutorials out there that explain, and demonstrate exactly what you're asking..........And if you go into the Tutorial section on this website's messageboard, Bandcoach recently posted a thread about how to improve melodies...so you wana check that out too, cuz he knows his shit

Once I have my chord progression, i'll play around with it, building cadences and then melodies to lay over top of them. Sometimes, i'll just improvise the melody.

Try to build melodies from the chord progression. There are a trillion ways to do this but start by messing around with the notes in each chord. For example, when you play a C major chord, mess around with C, E and G. Tap them in different rhythms and cadences. When you play A minor, play around with A, C and E and so on.

Obviously you can play notes outside of the notes in each chord, but it's an easy way to start gathering ideas for a melody.

Good luck bro - I know as a beginner this shit is intimidating.