Where Do These Producers Find Their Weird and Amazing Sounds?

KD35WB0JH13

Stumbled upon Trey Songs - Smartphones

I can't post a working link because im a new member but if you search "Trey Songs - SmartPhones lyrics" It should be the first video with 2.6M views

The instrumental has really reminded me with the question I ask myself a lot "how do people find these weird noises and effects that really creates something unique". I'm very new to producing and have only spent a couple of hours on Abelton but everything on their sounds horrible compared to tracks like this that have amazing drum kits piano and effects. I've made a list of everything I find interesting in this song and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction to where I can find stuff like this.

1. 0:00-3:51 very high and quiet notes played throughout

2. 0:22-0:28 main chord progression but with a very weird effect

3. 0:50-1:04 repeated staticy thing (seriously WTF is this?)

4. 1:20-125 guitar note with another weird and reverby effect- sound plays on the lyric 'side' "time is not on our side"

5. 1:35-1:49 very strong bass with no attack, very subtle

6. 2:33-3:01 like the bass in #5, this guitar is very thick with no attack, but subtle and the presence is definitely felt

7. 3:18-3:33 electric guitar with another weird and reverby effect

If anybody could help I'd be so so thankful. The factory sounds on Abelton have really killed any inspiration when composing. Man if I had great sounds to work with I'd create so many amazing pieces.

Thanks guys

If anybody could help I'd be so so thankful. The factory sounds on Abelton have really killed any inspiration when composing. Man if I had great sounds to work with I'd create so many amazing pieces.