What instruments in a song MUST be in key & what don't?

Suprarick

Hey guys,

I'm going through my library and I'm not an expert on music theory by any means. I'm wondering what instruments need to be in key and which ones will still sound okay by not being in key? I'm assuming most kick drums, bass notes, synth notes, piano's, strings, etc. must be IN key in order for the song to sound good. I'm assuming things like snares and hihats may not need to be in key...but please please correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks! I am also wondering...can percussion be in the scale of a key, for it to fit in a song? Or does all the percussion need to stay in the root note key?

Rick

If you're using 808 kicks, then you may want to tune them to the key of the song. Otherwise, all instruments should be in the same key. Not so much drums. But any melodic or harmony sounds should be in the same key. Key is what glues the song elements together, to make a harmonious sound. If your piano was in a different key than your bass, it'd sound a little wacky.

Tuned percussion can sound cool, but its not essential. If you tune percussion to your overall key, it will obviously sit a little better than discorded percussion.

Hey guys,

I'm going through my library and I'm not an expert on music theory by any means. I'm wondering what instruments need to be in key and which ones will still sound okay by not being in key? I'm assuming most kick drums, bass notes, synth notes, piano's, strings, etc. must be IN key in order for the song to sound good. I'm assuming things like snares and hihats may not need to be in key...but please please correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks! I am also wondering...can percussion be in the scale of a key, for it to fit in a song? Or does all the percussion need to stay in the root note key?

Rick