What does it take to be a great composer?

I

Isaac Rife

What do you think it takes to be a great composer or to make a great composition?

What does it take to a good musician in your own eyes?

I got into a heated debate on youtube with a guy who claims that if you are not famous or don't have a big follow base then you can't be a good musician.... He then basically said that if things that are not 4/4 (commercial) are much better than things that are complex and intricate....

I just need to know if people think that claim is Absurd.

I would post this into getting started but Im really not new to music. lol

I personally think that it is just crazy... apparently Im bad because I don't take music so serious? I wouldn't say im a bad musician, I can play 9 instruments from orchestral to the analog synthesizer but im intelligent to know that its better to have a degree and a steady job lol.

I also found it hilarious because most artists that have a huge fanbase are label property and have little say in the actual composition of his or her music...

this whole debate was hilarious/frustrating! I just want to see what others think!

Last edited by a moderator:
You won't get any argument here - my list of instruments is around the site in a few different places and makes people wonder where I found the time to learn let alone sleep and eat and procreate etc....

gotta remember, as has been said in another part of fp very recently, there is a difference between someone who is looking to make some quick money to buy their latest toy and those who need to make money to pay the real bills....

He is young and won't change until he is forced to when life gets a hold of his balzac and givers it a real good tug......

I really wasn't trying to start an arguement, I just thought i would share with the community about this guys view on music...

UPDATE:
You can apparently have talent and not be famous? thats that this guy on youtube just said (hypocrisy)!!!!