TUTORIAL: Learning Scales & Chords

are these all the chords possible on a piano? How many chords are there that are possible? I am a complete noob i used to sample but now im learning to compose from scratch...

yes .....can u explain me with the Bflat major chords.....i can under stand with C,E,G major code......but not the Bflat major chords.

how u move bass notes in Bflat major scale

Last edited:
Bflat major chords:

You would creat bflat major chords with the keys that make up the Bflat major scale.

To find the scale, in every scale there are 7 notes. When counting the keys the 3 and the 4 will be a half step away from each other, and so will the 7 and the 8. The 8th note is the same as the 1st note, which is b flat.

I - Bflat
ii - C
iii - D
IV - E flat
V - F
vi - G
vii - A

In the major scale, the I, IV, V are major, the ii, iii, vi are minor. vii is diminished.

Therefore, using the notes that are in the key of b flat listed above, you create your chords accordingly. For a I IV V I progression, which is Bflat major, Eflat major, F major, and Bflat major, create chords according to each major scale, find the first, third and fifth note of each chord using this method. If you need anyfurther assistance PM me and i'll do my best to explain it clearer.

Last edited:
Oh yeah you create a bassline using the notes of the scale you use, stay in the key of Bflat, if that's the key your song is in. I usually use the notes of whatever chord i'm playing, and also make sure your bass note lands on the same note of your chord. If you're playing a bflat chord, the first note of your bassline should be a bflat. Next chord is Eflat, first note of that bass line should be Eflat, respectively. I think I need to be teaching piano.

i don't understand step 4 in the major scale part.

to find the sharps in the A major scale you look to the lowercase letter which was g but how did u find C and G then. i don't get the counting backwards part. can someone explain it please?