TUTORIAL: Learning Scales & Chords

Now if only someone could explain the circle of 5ths and the nashville number system this easily... Very good post. I wish I read your post years ago.

Now if only someone could explain the circle of 5ths and the nashville number system this easily

Okay, i'll do my best. I've been teaching myself this stuff for the last two years and am currently a first year music major.

THE CIRCLE OF FIFTHS/CIRCLE OF KEYS

Since I am new here, thereby cannot post pictures, I will start by explaining it as a clock.

The scale at the 12 o'clock position is the C Major scale. The notes of the C Major scale are C D E F G A B C. These 8 notes constitute an octave. An octave is nothing but the 8 notes that make up a scale. The intervals (distance) between the notes that build the major scale octave are w-w-h-w-w-w-h, or wholestep-wholestep-halfstep-wholestep-wholestep-wholestep-halfstep. On a piano, the easiest way to see this would be as two white keys separated by a black key. The distance from a white key to a black key is a half step. Going back to the C Major scale, we should see the intervals between the scale notes (the capital letters) as CwDwEhFwGwAwBhC. Because of this arrangement of whole steps and half steps, we can see that the scale(also referred to as a "key") does not contain any SHARPS OR FLATS (otherwise known as "accidentals")
Now, for each note of a scale octave , we assign them degrees.
For example:
1(also referred to as the "root") C
2 D
3 E
4 F If we count up FOUR degrees from our 1st degree (root), we'll end up at our first FLAT(b) scale (counterclockwise) which resides at the 11 o'clock position.
5 G If we count up FIVE degrees from our 1st degree (root), we'll end up at our first SHARP(#) scale (clockwise) which resides at the 1 o'clock position.
6 A
7 B
8 C