Turning beats into real songs

L

LionL

Hi, I'm really new to making music, but I'd like to know how ya'll do when you make like the instruments to a song.
I can make the beat, I mean the drums and so on, but you gotta have something like a piano or guitar to make the beat become a song, you get me? This is what I need help with,
and I want to make the song come out a hiphop song. I use FL Studio and Cubase SE3.

Well that's hard to talk about music creation. Every producer make it in different ways and u gotta develope your own.
If u say u got beats but u can't create a melody then try just sing something in your head till it becames something like a melody then draw this in sequencer. Listen to how it sounds with your beat, quantize it if it needs and get the midi file with a melody. Further u can play this melody using different instruments - piano, guitar, string whatever. Then make a bassline using the same melody, but playing only the root keys of its chords.
I can advice u one thing: don't stop if u dont like the melody, all the same finish the song - create a bassline, add another instruments etc... I think that's good start point in making music, doing all these things will help u figure out the whole process of creating a SONG, not just a beat or melody. Just dont give up, always improve your skills.

Thank you!
I also wonder how you make a good bassline that dont interrupt too much with the song.

just don't make it too loud,.

And try using just sinus waveform(maybe wit something else layered) basses

Theres something called a "Replay" where u replay a beat as in mainstream beats doing so u get to learn why sounds do wut they do and u get familiar with the moods of songs try it out

Last edited:
Dr. G said:
just don't make it too loud,.

And try using just sinus waveform(maybe wit something else layered) basses

sinus waveforms? good luck finding those....