Taking knowledge from one instrument to apply it to another...??

quantumleap

I know some of you play more than a few instruments..So I guess this applies to you guys..I'm looking for a little help, a push in the right direction if you will..

I'm still learning how to play the keyboard..I'm still learning theory while learning my way with the keys.... But say, I do also own an electric guitar. I havnt played it in years. I never even LEARNED how to play it..I mean, I remember like 2 chords, but I never took the time when I was younger to learn how to play, like I've been taking the time to learn the piano in recent times.. But could you direct me to a site, tutorial, reading, advice, etc about how to take the knowledge I have with piano, and applying it to the guitar?

I made a beat in D-Major.......was thinking it'd be cool to put some of my own guitar work in there, but really have no idea where to start..

I don't even know if theres a special way I would need to tune the guitar.. but its something I'd like to get into and incorporate into my music. So anything you have to offer will be greatly appreciated as I'm already looking forward to all the new information I'm about to come across relating to the subject.

Thanks,

QuantumLeap

Seriously there is so many sites out there that will take your money for offering you next to nothing.

Here are five that i have come across that offer freebies either a few (up to 24) or a lot (450). enjoy.

The hardest thing with this is that it will take time to get the fingers coordinated - we also use a different numbering system for fingering the guitar to piano/keyboards fingering (mainly the thumb does not have a number). the knowledge itself easily translates. tuning systems are many and varied, but standard guitar tuning is EADGBE thickest to thinnest; the B is the one below middle C. there are two (2) octaves between the thickest and thinnest strings.