Swing - Drum pattern ending before end of bar

lukesan

Hello sorry if this has already been posted but I could not find an answer (just joined for this question)

I am putting a drum pattern on the piano roll and when I want the pattern to end and start again there is half a bar at the end

Here's a image

drum pattern.png

Probably me being an idiot but how can I get this to fit without adding any extra beats?

Tempo - 160
Signature - 4/4

Thanks for any answer

You're having that problem because you're only using 2 and a half of your 4 bars. So changing the time signature would be necessary in this case unless you can loop the clip from that point, which would technically change the time signature without you having to know which one to change to. I'm not very good with time signature so I couldn't tell you which one would fit. Try em out, until it starts to loop where you want it to.

Also why on earth is your bars divided into 3 like that? That looks to me like your time signature is actually 3/4, and not 4/4.

Last edited:
I see what you've done.

You've written a 4/4 drum pattern in a 3/2 time signature.

4 bars of 4/4 is 16 crotchets.
2.5 bars of 3/2 (3 minim beats per bar) is also 16 crotchets, so the amount of time is right but the repeats are wrong. I'm guessing when you turn the metronome on, it sounds out of time?

Start again with the time signature set to 4/4.

Last edited:
That was exactly the issue scrapheaper, I don't know how I could not see that, strange though cause my project general settings is set to 4/4.

Cheers for the help to both of you.

It is isn't it... amazing how many tracks use the standard dnb or house pattern.

Mind you, this guy has been slightly creative because he's put the second kick one quaver before the third beat of the bar, rather than one beat after. :D

I like the typical beats though. They're simple and elegant. Anything more complicated kinda messes with the purpose of drums: to define the beat.