Studying music theory

GWNL

Has any of you guys had previous experience in music theory prior to producing? Or have you self-taught yourself to produce whatever just sounds good?

Has any of you guys had previous experience in music theory prior to producing? Or have you self-taught yourself to produce whatever just sounds good?
I started learning to make beats before I began learning theory.
I did study a bit of piano when I was in highschool, but never took it seriously until I got older.
I only began learning theory (through studying piano and guitar) because I was dissatisfied with the music I was making. I was having serious trouble reconciling the music in my head with the music I was making, and like alot of beatmakers, I wanted that "jazzy feel" to my beats but did not understand what that actually meant. So, I decided to take music lessons to develop a level of musicality that would allow me to express myself the way I wanted to through my music. That was the best decision I ever made.

You don't need theory to make music, but understanding it can help you achieve the results you want alot faster and even take you in directions you would never have discovered by *just* relying on your ears.

That isn't to say its either or (music theory or "using my ears). In order to learn and understand theory (and music), you have to use your ears, regardless. So, when some says its either/or they're being retarded and should not be listened to.