Software and formats used

geovanni

Simple questions:
1.Which is a good program to do your scores with. I have cakewalk´s MUSIC CREATOR, its watered down version of SONAR (even so, you are able to import video files). Do not have SONAR. I would like to know which one let´s you import your video files.
2.what is the most common video format in which TV or film people use for their scoring contractors.

geovanni said:
Simple questions:
1.Which is a good program to do your scores with. I have cakewalk´s MUSIC CREATOR, its watered down version of SONAR (even so, you are able to import video files). Do not have SONAR. I would like to know which one let´s you import your video files.

I have no experience with either of the programs you mentioned, byt any program where you can sync to video is fine for scoring.

geovanni said:

2.what is the most common video format in which TV or film people use for their scoring contractors.

Quicktime is very common (it is extremely rare that I will get sent anything other than a QT file)

I think I'm being sent regular mpeg files. Windows Media Player works fine for playing them.

If of any interest: I always send mp3 files to the film makers.

Giannis said:
I think I'm being sent regular mpeg files. Windows Media Player works fine for playing them.

If of any interest: I always send mp3 files to the film makers.

you send MP3 files for use in the film? or just for them to listen to for reference and approval?

I absolutely can't believe anyone would put an MP3 in a film... it is such poor quality.

I've sent mp3 files which have been used in films, yeah.

I know mp3 isn't high quality but no one has really complained. My philosophy has always been that it is the music which counts. Mixing and sound quality is of great importance of course.

Can you give me exaples of the software you are using. Just to have a reference and maybe look into them.

Giannis said:
I've sent mp3 files which have been used in films, yeah.