Samples vs Midi

Alex Turovski

Hey!

I'm relatively new to music production and new to this forum. So please, if there's already a discussion on my topic don't throw rotten tomatoes :)

I was wondering (when watching all those different production tutorials) why do so many producers prefer samples over Midi? For drums for example.

Personally, I find it much more flexible to use Midi as u can change the tonality of each note very quickly and reprogram the beat without the need to reposition the samples across your whole project. I use Logic Pro X as my DAW.

Maybe there are other benefits (like sound quality or processing) that I'm just not aware of as a newbie?

First of all, you can have both samples and midi in a track, up to your own preference.

Many people like samples cause they lack the ability to make, drums for example, theirself. It's easier to pick something that's basically already done than put effort into making your own. I do use both in my tracks but my samples always come from my own plays. From a management point of view, samples are just required some adaption to your "sound" and some positioning. With midi you have to quantitize, automate, velocity, legato, glides etc... but you can use both combined with a sample as sound source..
Maybe your question is more "Why samples over self made?" Am i right?

Hope I made myself clear ^^

PS: Logic isnt really the best daw to work with midi

Moonboi, Thank you for your reply!

Yes, it is very clear, but I have to disagree with
they lack the ability to make, drums for example, theirself

I've watched some Digital Labz tutorials where known producers compose a melody of create a bass sound the prefer with midi, then convert to audio and continue working with audio rather than midi.
That's why I get a feeling that I'm missing something when working with midi.

Moonboi, Thank you for your reply!

Yes, it is very clear, but I have to disagree with