Question about electronic music studying

ferez21

Hi,
This is my first thread here, hope i'm in the right forum for my question.

So, I was wondering - Does any of the big artists went to any kind of music studying in order to develop themselves? or do they all self-taught? lets take the current big names in the industry, for example: Skrillex, Deadmau5 (feel free to add artists).

Last edited:
No, but would it hurt you to learn it?

Also, do people listen to any other dance music OTHER than Deadmau5 and Skrillex? I can generally gauge if a discussion on dance music (when the f**k did it become "EDM", and when did this acronym become the signifier for "techno for people who don't actually like techno"?) is even worth having with someone if these two artists are the first to come out their mouths.

No, but would it hurt you to learn it?

Also, do people listen to any other dance music OTHER than Deadmau5 and Skrillex? I can generally gauge if a discussion on dance music (when the f**k did it become "EDM", and when did this acronym become the signifier for "techno for people who don't actually like techno"?) is even worth having with someone if these two artists are the first to come out their mouths.

shut the fuk up you pompous bish, I don't like snobs. Threadstarter asked a innocent question and you're being lil dickhole about it gtfo

Anyways @TS, I'm not sure if they went to school for it, all I know is that it began with DJ's in midwest USA (Chicago and Detroit mostly). They played a huge variety of music, and over time, they developed a knack for knowing what people liked, and it seems that the general public can vouch for that these days.

I'm not sure if DEADMAU5 and skrillex learnt it in school, alot of them hang out with EDM producers, and they all share their secrets with each other.