Pro tools Midi

N

nutter007

I've just recently downloaded protools free. Been gettin to grips with it slowly but am gettin stuck now.

Firstly when i use the midi it will only play the crappy piano. I've tried puttin VST plugins in like in Cubase but it won't have it (read the manual and it just says to select from the edit menu but there is only one choice). Haven't got any external midi equipment as I am a poor student just experimentin. Is there an easy way to get those B-lines into the tune????

Also I have downloaded some Real files and converted them to wav. When i put them in they don't play properly if at all. Is this to do with the sample rate or is it the fact that they were real files. (They sound fine when there are played thru winamp)??????

I would be very greatful if anyone could help me with this!!

Thanks

Klang:bat:

nutter007,

pro-tools doesn't support VSTi's. Reading your post I'm feeling a bit guilty as I directed you towards pro-tools free to start with and now I'm sure it's not the right app for you:eek: (very sorry) because you want to work with midi (in your first post you just talked about recording mixes for free). If you need an app that supports virtual instruments then go for Cubase, it's soooo much better for midi anyway.

As for WAV files, it might be that they are at a different sample rate and/or bit depth from pro-tools session.

I use Cubase for all my 'composing' (sounds too posh for what I do) because its midi is so much better than pro-tools and I use pro-tools to rip audio from CDs, create RealAudio files and edit waveforms - especially editing waveforms as it pi$$es on Cubase from such a great height. You can use it to grab breaks from CDs or vinyl, work out their tempo, compress them and add other effects and then import them into Cubase. If I could afford it I would use pro-tools (full version - or at least 24 tracks) and Cubase, but for the moment Cubase will have to do.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help,
KasioRoks