Playing Piano By Ear? Does It help with Creating Your own melodies?

I

IKETURNERMUZIC

I've seen the many books and programs on the internet saying they'll teach you piano by ear in 12 weeks. Basically you'll be learning how to play popular songs, but how is this going to help me with playing and getting the melodies out of my head and applying them to the keyboard.I'm a beginner on the keys and Im trying to create my own sound as far as producing and i'm tired of sampling.I have a music theory & scale/chord book that I'm learning so Im taking the beginner steps.

I really need the advice of everybody that has been in my shoes,trying to learn the basics.Would learning to play by ear benefit me in learning to create my own arrangements.What would you suggest for someone struggling with learning keys?

All advice is welcome and appreciated

Jay

I don't play the piano but I've been playing guitar for 3 years. I learned to play by learning popular songs. Playing popular songs or songs you like will help with your ear.

The whole trick behind it is that the more you play and practice your scales, your ear will pick up and recognize notes and chords. A lot of pop songs use the same chord progressions. They just arrange it different, invert chords, or add something to make the song sound unique. So eventually your ear will get trained to where you will have a melody in your head that has a similar chord progresssion as a pop song you know and it will help you find it and put it down on the keys faster.

You don't have to play by ear to write your own melodies but the better your ear is with your instrument, the easier it will be. Listen to a lot of music to where you can hum melodies to songs without hearing them. I realized there are a lot of music lovers that can't even sing their favorite song in the right key lol. Humming a melody on key with the music is good for starters.