newbie theory questions

tgd

Hi everyone. i have a few questions regarding the relationship between chords and scales. Ill give a couple examples of what im trying to figure out. First lets say im in the key of C and i use the chord progression I-VI-III, which would be C-A Minor-E minor. If i want to create a melody over top of these chords can i use any scale that is in the key of C or should i use a scale that only includes the notes that make up the progression i used?

Second, lets reverse the first example. Still in the key of C, if i create a melody using lets say the dorian mode using only the notes C-D-E flat-G-A-B flat. How would i go about creating a chord progression that would go with the melody.
Thanks for any help you can give.

hmm i think I know where u are confused. im no expert at music theory but i'll try to help. First when u write in a scale u stay in that scale. you know what chord progrsions are so lets skip that. what u need to realize is that the keys in the chords to make ur chord progresion are specific only one to 1 scale/key. Thoses chords you metion are only for the C major scale. You said u are in the key of C if im not mistaken musicians understand that a C-major scale. If u want to use that chord progression in a scale lets say C-minor then u keys used in the I-IV-III progression would change, to what ever it is i dont know of the top of my head. So when u say im in the key of C u reallying saying im writting in the C-major scale, not writing in the key of C any scale that start with the C key.

tgd said:
First lets say im in the key of C and i use the chord progression I-VI-III, which would be C-A Minor-E minor. If i want to create a melody over top of these chords can i use any scale that is in the key of C or should i use a scale that only includes the notes that make up the progression i used?