Music theory explanation? [Hip-Hop/Trap/Drill]

TroyLoud

I'm new to making beats so i've been watching tutorials, and I've come across the words Melodies, Synths (Sound?), Chords, Scales amongst others. I'm trying to understand what exactly they mean, how they affect the beat, their purpose, which comes after the other. Is there anywhere that explains these things? Or could someone explain them? For example, is the melody the main element of a drill beat besides the drums and snares?IS a Synth a sound? Are chords part of the melody? Im real confused would like someone to enlighten me

explain all of this for myself takes 5 yrs ..
melodies can be anything !! even A door sound :)) for exaple the main sound rhytmic sound in track is called melodie !!
in the new Erra of music alot of things can be happend when u makeing a music !!
but for the start..
combine of a beat + melody + chord + synth and PAD + choir + Effect's (a big ambient sound) will give u a track..

Last edited:
First off, the nigga ^^^above me-shut up.

To the OP, lemme take you on a journey....
Sing Mary had a Little Lamb. Its okay, we all real niggas here, no one gonna laugh. That tune you sung- thats a melody. Think of melody as the fingers on your hand. Okay.

Chords are groups of notes played altogether (at the same damn time)

Okay, so, lets say you 'bout to knock a nigga out for eye-fuccin' your main chick while y'all in line at El Pollo Loco. You ain't gonna hit him with all four of your fingers and thumb one at a time, right? You gunna square up, and hit him with that Number 4 combo 2-piece with the dirty rice. If a melody is each of the fingers on your hand, then a chord is like a a balled up fist, feel me?

Melody-individual notes played in succession. Remember when you learned how to count on your fingers, like "Wuuuunnn, Toooo, Treee, Foooooh"? Thats MELODY(A group of individual notes played one after the other)