Making your Kicks REALLLLY Knock....

Mr West

Im fairly new to Reason ive been using it for a few months now and im just wondering if anybody has tips on how to really make my drums knock like Khalil is doing besides the usual EQ and compressing.

Maybe you have some tips others like myself might not be aware of.

And if thats all you can say then maybe what are some tips i might not know on EQ'ing and Compression?

I usually just turn the gain up on the compressor +3 and use a ratio of 3:1.

lol dont grill me too hard and no im not interested in the BEETMAKER VST.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Hey Mr West. I'll try my best to answer your question but it's a very common question and you should really try a "search". Not only on THIS forum but try Gearslutz.com as well.

As the previous poster mentioned... you should really layer your kicks and snares.

What I try to do is find two broadly similar kicks but they might have slightly different tones to them. I'll take one kick and eq it to bring out the fundamental frequency as well as some harmonics in it. Then I'll do the same with the other kick.

I almost always roll off 35hz and below. Try a high pass filter and just cut everything at 35hz and lower. Anything lower then 35hz is really just unnecessary "rumble" and all it will do is cloud up your low end come mix time.

You can usually layer 2 - 3 kicks or snares together without it being "too much".

To find the "tone" of these drums... open your eq. Find a low to mid low band that you want to use. Set the "Q" value to a VERY VERY narrow band. Next turn your speakers down.
Bring the "Gain" up on that band all the way. ALL THE WAY UP!

Now sweep the mid to low freqs and listen for that tone of the kick that you might like. When you find it... lower the gain down to either +3 or +6 db. Now widen the Q to a medium setting. Not too wide but not too narrow either.