made a decision on not to learn how to read music

dmajor100

Very frustrated with these piano lessons and trying to learn how to read music when I just wanna play and compose greater music. I know all my scales basically I know inversions,chords,7ths,9ths so I'm not sure if reading is nessecary for me to improve on what I already know. Another thing that frustrates me is that I'm a music producer/audio engineer and trying to learn several other things as well and need to focus on just making music rather than learning a new language which is more time of doing that and will only be used when reading music which most current producers don't use just musician. So should I learn just more technique,progressions,coordination exercise,theory and other things to just build on what I already know?

Reading music has two uses:

a) To play other people's compositions
b) you can write it so other people play your compositions

I think if you have the knowledge and like to compose that way by all means, you could also do random scirbbling of chord progressions and what not. If you work with MIDI I think that best way is to have something transcribed in midi and work from there. No right way or wrong way. Reading music is definitely an extra step not necessary