Is learning music theory worth it?

Karrma

I've been a producer for about 4 years now, and just recently started pushing it as a career super hard. I'm working on getting a website soon and I've been striving to put myself on the map. I was just wondering if it's worth it for me to sit down and take the time to study, and learn music theory. Will I be able to tell a big difference? Will it help that much in the long run? I'm a hip hop producer for the most part unless I get a random artist that wants something different. I noticed hip hop music starting to actually be structured now a days. I know a few years ago you could just bang around on the keys and end up making a hit. I've never been that way though. I do know how to play the keys. I'm not a noob. Anyway, sorry for rambling. Is it worth it for me to take the time and learn music theory? Also, does "composing" fall under music theory?

Any input is appreciated. Get back to me.

- Karrmabeats

If music is going to be your trade, I think it makes sense to know as much about music as you possibly could.

Music theory, imo, helps you understand what you are doing & why. You'll know why certain things go together, why some things don't. It will help you communicate with your artist, help them understand what you're looking for, if you know the right way to tell them.

I don't know much about theory, major and minor I understand, scales of course, but if you wanna go in deeper than that be my guest, I can just never stay awake to read that stuff.

I don't know much about theory, major and minor I understand, scales of course, but if you wanna go in deeper than that be my guest, I can just never stay awake to read that stuff.

In other words you don't know sh!t. Lol you shoulda went deeper into it or you might as well not even learned that.

In other words you don't know sh!t. Lol you shoulda went deeper into it or you might as well not even learned that.