That Kind Of Kick...

trackavelic

How can I have the sound the kick that you find in "Lean Back" of Fat Joe, "Tasty" of Bubba Sparxxx, "Gangsta Party" of Joe Budden, it's the same...
Some people told me to play with eq, compress, ... but how?????

I dont have those songs to listen to them right now, but i heard Fat Joe's "Lean Back" many times tho. And it seems it was just regular 808 bass drum with maybe toms layered over it. No?

Hi,

I never listen to those tracks but as an producer I know that for the fat ,prominent kick (also for all sounds) you need to layer 2 kicks ( or as samurai said tom tom. One for the bottom and one for the presence in mid and hi freq. You need to put it on a separate chanel so you can eq separately.Then group it into to one chanel with comp, and play it with treshold and ratio.

For a fat and agressive kick use treshold from -10 to -18 and ratio from 4 to 8. You need to play, there is no a formula.

Hope I help you.

yas you kent but if you what a crespy Kick just play whit the EQ if you dont know what a EQ is thas mine Equalizer en put a littel bit of reverd en fillter you nite tu amprovisa

i have it al

Last edited:
Pinax said:
Hi,

I never listen to those tracks but as an producer I know that for the fat ,prominent kick (also for all sounds) you need to layer 2 kicks ( or as samurai said tom tom. One for the bottom and one for the presence in mid and hi freq. You need to put it on a separate chanel so you can eq separately.Then group it into to one chanel with comp, and play it with treshold and ratio.

For a fat and agressive kick use treshold from -10 to -18 and ratio from 4 to 8. You need to play, there is no a formula.

Hope I help you.
This works well, and I would add some playing around with the pitch until you get a sweet spot where the two kick samples become massive as one. If you can do this right it will be awesome without even going too loud.