I'm trying to make techno,pop, and r&b, where to start, been making rap for years.

richie09

I'm trying to make techno,pop, and r&b, where to start, been making rap for years.

hi, i've been making rap beats (nothing professional, just for fun at home) for a decade. I've been using Reason for several years, currently using Reason 6. Soon I will try to get some of my work out there. Just haven't built the confidence.

Anyways, I've had a big interest in making other kinds of music. I love all kinds of music. But, I want to try to make some r&b, techno, and pop tracks. This might sound crazy but i'm totally lost. I have some great pop ideas in my head but for some reason I can't seem to understand why i can't make those tracks. Like for techno, i read you need to speed your bpm to 120 and up. Also the four to the floor kick (i think that's what they call it, lol). But, still something is freakn missing, I always end up slowing the bpm down and making it into a rap song.

Same thing with r&b and pop, i can't seem to do it, i think part of my problem could be drums, I use Reason and have plenty refills, there's a variety of different kits. But, i seem to be sort of stuck on the same drum pattern whether i use different drums or not. i've tried listening to some songs i like but can't seem to get the pattern.

I'm open for any advice, any particular BPM that's best for those styles of music? any particular drum pattern setting. When I say that, i know various songs use all kinds of patterns, i'm just saying a good starting point. I use Reason 6. When i say r&b i'm not talking about the type that sounds just like rap beats, i'm talking slow jams or music from 80s and 90s.