I SUCK at making drums... Help, please?

xdrivethru96x

Lately I've been trying to work on a few tracks I'm composing, And I've been having such trouble finding drums that will actually "fit" and truly sound good with my melodies(piano, synths, etc). I'm almost thinking that I'm working backwards, by creating melodies/riffs for a song first, and then trying to bring in drums, but this is how I've made music in a band before (I've been a guitarist for years, and just recently getting into "producing" tracks myself in a DAW), and there's no "rules", right? Are there any tips anyone could recommend for going about making tracks this way? Thank-you so much in advance

And FYI, I have a ton of "Sample packs/Drum kits", I'm not just trying to use the factory sounds.

pop music is full of rules whether you want to accept it or not

there is the power of 2 rule about bars and fills

there are rules about overall lengths (radio will not play tracks over 5 minutes as the royalty rate for such tracks is higher)

there are expectations about what instruments to use and what are reasonable topics for lyrics

I have a problem as to whether you are seeking advice on drum sounds or drum parts

elaborate please

Coach, you're always one step ahead!

Yeah, +1 on "What are you looking for?" Help making rhythms, or help choosing sounds? Or, just some ideas on where to start a song? The answer to the latter is-- Anywhere or anyplace/element that you are inspired with. I've written from drum grooves and bass-lines a lot, but usually start with chord changes and then add a melody, which leads to some lyrics. Occasionally though, you get the melody or lyrics first, and have to work in that direction. Start with whatever musical element spurs the most creative response from you.

If you have real "drum" oriented questions, get specific and we can answer more specifically...

GJ

Last edited: