I Need to Tips on Basslines

D

D-Funkdafied

Whenever I make a tune, the hardest part for me is always getting the bassline to have a good feel and groove to it.
But I still find it hard.. Share as many tips on getting a good bassline please!

what style? styles? serious question because what works for one style may not work for another style

Correct me if im wrong as im a bit of a noob myself but doesnt your bassline generally follow the same base note pattern as your lead? I just generally try playing around with notes until something sounds good. Start off with a few lower notes and get higher towards the end. I cant post links to youtube but copy and paste this in to youtube and you'll find a pretty food tutorial on this:

FL Studio: melodies and bassline + theory = tutorial

or this:

Tutorial - creating a bassline & a lead melody

Last edited by a moderator:

Correct me if im wrong as im a bit of a noob myself but doesnt your bassline generally follow the same base note pattern as your lead? I just generally try playing around with notes until something sounds good. Start off with a few lower notes and get higher towards the end. I cant post links to youtube but copy and paste this in to youtube and you'll find a pretty food tutorial on this:

FL Studio: melodies and bassline + theory = tutorial

or this:

Tutorial - creating a bassline & a lead melody

That would be the most very basic and simple way to add a baseline, to play the bass note from your chord progression. I used to do that too and works great, but I think it gets repetitive and makes the overrall beat lack movement.
I find that maybe for intros or breaks in the song, that method works, but try using the scale your in to come up with a move moving bass line. But like bandcoach said, it depends on the genre.
Example Trap Music the bass line is very basic and simple, sometimes they just use 808's but then in Jazz the bassline is something special.