I need some rythm schooling!

Noizemaker

So a few months ago I felt inspired to take on the hobby of making heavy dubstep/ambient type music, and I've come quite a ways so far. However my only musical background is playing lead guitar (mostly heavy metal) for several years and I have little experience or understanding of percussion, beat types, rythm structure etc. And being that dubstep is primarily percussion based, this has become quite a stumbling block in my creative process. Most of the beats I make simply "don't fit" with the music and I end up deleting 95% of them. I'm not really sure where to go from here, but if anyone has any helpful hints, tips, secrets, etc., please enlighten me.

Thanks!

Do you understand bar structure 4/4 3/4 etc.? Do you know where the kicks and snares are usually placed?

Yeah I know bar structure. I have a vague idea of where the kicks and snares tend to go, but that seems to vary alot....

---------- Post added at 09:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:27 PM ----------

like I know that Dubstep is basically a subgenre of EDM, but I don't quite understand the difference between makong a quality beat for dance music or one for rock music.

Really, I'm just new to making beats and I suck cause I've never done it before and don't know what I'm doing......

Look on top of you DAW youll see 1 - 2 - 3 -4 - 5, 1-5 is 4 bars now put your bpm at 90bpm and put a snare on 2 & 4 and a kick on 1&3 now adjust the bpmvto ur liking and listen to how the sound changes ill be back if you still have ?

---------- Post added at 04:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:02 AM ----------

Try adding kicks in different places between 1-5 so you can see how the sound changes. After you get that down erase everything change your bpm to 180 and put a snare on 3 and kicks on 1-2, 2 1/2 and 4 this is called double time it sounds like 90 bpm but its faster bpm the notes are just spread out farther. If you have amy questions hit me back