I need Help making melodies

Thehitman808

I’m new to music producing, I understand how to work my daw (fl studio).
but when I try to make my melodies it just doesn’t come out the way I want it to, I’m not saying it on a opinion stand point. But I don’t know what I’m doing . Am I using the wrong instruments ? When I make one melody does the other need to start off with the same key, I need help bad. I also need help understanding when to use a lead a pad a saw and just a regular piano sound. And what instruments I can’t make a melody with. I obviously know I can’t make it with drums but yea just please help me, it seems like YouTube videos don’t help me back all I do it just follow what they do and they give clear details, for a beginner like me.

What kind of music do you make? If I were to guess, you just don't have enough experience with the instrument of your choice. However, I would start creating melodies by following these guidelines (You can feel free to break them as you gain experience):

- Stay strictly within the key signature. Any notes outside of the key can quickly bring in dissonance.
- Try and stick with a simple piano as your first melody instrument. Once you have a solid melody line, experiment with other instruments
- Sometimes, melodies can be found while noodling about, and other times it comes to you in your head. Try and use both techniques.
- Keep repeating a section over and over again until you find the right melody.

I would love to hear a sample of what you have so far in your song.

Hi
Here's A Trick! Try To Flip The Melody of Your Favorite Track.
Sometimes It Gives You A Great Melody and Some Times idea.
For Example: Try Martin Garrix's Rewind & Repeat It, Just Flip Its Melody.
I have Tried It And It Was Almost Good

Hi Hirman!

Yeah what genre you making?