I have mouths to feed here........

munook

I am an artist/songwriter who is turning slowly from guitar, bass, drums, & vocals to the strange and facinating world of machines making music....(which in the pompass world of live musicians is considered to be the dark side by & by) So, given my musical background...creating a good song won't be a problem once I learn how to master these machines....my problem however is this...would some kind and knowledgable soul please tell me what gear (preferably hardware...but I'll go either way...) I need to use (including mixers and speakers) to get the best, most professional sound possible....because I want my live shows packed out and my albums to sound top-notch....I need to make some serious cash...I have mouths to feed here.......oh yeah....I have currently in my possesion an E-MU MP-7, a Roland CDX-1 Disclab, a completely naked PC ( please tell me how to properly dress...),and several random live insruments (8-track recorder...congas, mics, guitars bass...etc). My idea is to combine live music with electronica for a kind of industrial feel....please help.

Just an idea: it might turn out to be very fruitful if you collaborated with someone in your area who is already experienced in the field of electronic music and engineering but in turn can't do live instrumentation. Look around and spread the word. As you have a solid background in playing live instruments and songwriting, there can very well be someone near you who has had the same kind of overall sound in mind and would seriously like to combine creative forces with you. Chances are that you will both learn a lot and can start exploring the combined acoustic/electronic territory sooner :)

Good luck!