How to write electronic pop riffs?

olsyboy

Hi!

I am a producer, but I think the hardest part is making the little catchy riffs. These are present in all of Ke$ha's songs (which I really like the production of).

I understand scales (Grade 5 music theory :P) and chords, but can anyone give me a hand with the first step?

Thanks so much for any advice!!

From Olly :D

Hi!

I am a producer, but I think the hardest part is making the little catchy riffs. These are present in all of Ke$ha's songs (which I really like the production of).

I understand scales (Grade 5 music theory :P) and chords, but can anyone give me a hand with the first step?

Thanks so much for any advice!!

From Olly :D

Easy, just copy riffs from popular songs and rearrange them, that's what all the major producers do. There hasn't been anything substantially new in pop for the last 10 years. You mentioned Kesha, all of her riffs are easily duplicated.

For example, every dramatic pop song today follows "f c# g# d#" . From Adele's hello, to John Legend's all of me, (adele's hello is just a more dramatic version of john legend's all of me, but with different feel and transition). They all sound the same. Again, super simple basic music theory notes. That's the key to writing good pop riffs.

Find out the major and minor chords for the notes above, and create ear pleasing/simplistic transitions. You can change the tempo, add passing and filler notes, and bam, you're in the game! But remember, percussion is key if you're going for a dance track.

And don't forget, if you're going for a pop song, make sure to COPY other songs! It's called Pop because it's popular for the ears of today, so only big money and major marketing can change the sound of pop, something beyond the control of producers and musicians. Good luck!

Cheers

Thanks!

But I still don't get, like.. Rearranging the riffs? I tried lots of times just now, doesn't sound too good :P