How to separate elements in a track and make them clean?

fruityhero

Hi guys! Fruity here!

I got a question. Well, I've been producing now for 2-3 years now and still don't have a clean mix or even an idea how to get it. An example is not necessary here, but a basic answer on a basic question.

How should I go on (EQ, Compression, Stereo Image), if I wanna have a clean track and elements, which don't interfere? I mean like Sound masking and phase cancellation. How do you avoid mixing problems like these? Are there suggestions like plugins, techniques etc? Would be very helpful.

Studio equipment:
- 2x KRK rp6 g3
- M-audio C600 Fast track (Audio Interface)
- Beyerdynamics DT990 Pro
- Basic acoustic treatment

PS: If you say mastering, than don't even answer...

The actual plugins don't matter really, you can use pretty much any compressor/EQ- it's how you use them.

Try and hear where in the mix it sounds too crowded and why it sounds too crowded, then get rid of some parts to make more space- either using eq or sidechaining/normal compression

The difficult part is hearing things, and hearing how to improve them, the effects are usually very subtle

Last edited:
If you are having this issue I would almost guarantee you are recording/mixing with the tracks too loud to begin with. Everything should be at a very moderate level in order to understand where things fit in the mix. You also need to understand where every type of instrument/synth/vocal/whatever wants to be in the mix (i.e. where the fundamental harmonic and any other prominent harmonics exist). Honestly I would just start with reducing the levels on all your tracks. You mentioned you have studio monitors so you should be able to hear the frequencies in which the sounds are clashing. An EQ plugin which displays harmonic frequency would be a good idea...unfortunately no one can really teach you ear training over the internet. Training your ears is way more important than any magical plugin.