How to make sad Trap (Hip-hop) Melody and beats.. !

Antistyle

Hello everyone !

I am new to producing trap music and hip-hop, I have been producing Psychedelic Trance for 2years.
So I do know the basics of producing but I do not know much in Trap kind of area..

So I just wanted to know If there are any tips on how to write sad melodies and how to keep the drum pattern,
and layering of different kind of sounds (What kind of sounds do you layer?).

Also I currently have a NI Maschine MK2 and a Akai MPK49 and I use Ableton Live..
So any tips on gear or software will be appreciated !

Thank you ! :)

Hello everyone !

I am new to producing trap music and hip-hop, I have been producing Psychedelic Trance for 2years.
So I do know the basics of producing but I do not know much in Trap kind of area..

So I just wanted to know If there are any tips on how to write sad melodies and how to keep the drum pattern,
and layering of different kind of sounds (What kind of sounds do you layer?).

Also I currently have a NI Maschine MK2 and a Akai MPK49 and I use Ableton Live..
So any tips on gear or software will be appreciated !

Thank you ! :)
For the most part the emotion of a melody is determined by the intervals between notes...ideally if you stick w/ a minor scale you'll get a "sad" sound, although it's possible to achieve a happy sound w/ a minor scale as well..Harmony can also give a strong emotional vibe too, so try to accompany the melody w/ a chord progression that involves minor chords and see where it goes from there.

Last edited:
Thank you everyone for the fast replies !!

Really learned a'lot :) Also I normally make my tracks 140 bpm (Trap)
So was just curious if the speed of my drum pattern could change the mood of the song.??