how to make a marching snare

ay yo i'm new to this thing but i would like to know how to make a marching snare in lmms i'm not sure if this is in the right spot so sorry if it's not. anyway i would love some help. i try not to produce a certain genre. i learned from Rick Rubin that music should not have boundaries. anyway thanks for the help.
future producer of the next big artist ;)
Hip Hops soldier

so, not going to be able to make with any of the built in instruments - they do not have enough scope in their parameters to even become close to achieving a marching snare type sound

best bet is to find some samples or a sample library or maybe a better drum synth vst and use that

aight thanks

also when i try to put VST's in lmms, when i go and copy the vst plugin location thingy and paste it in my library, it says windows can't find that location. any tips on how to get it to work? i use lmms 0.4.15 if it helps.also my brother in law does computer programming, would he be able to write a DAW?

Last edited by a moderator:
I think the plugs are looking for a "fit," or the DAW and plug recognize each other. If you look at the VST list of standard DAWs that are supposed to work with most of these plugs (wiki), LMMS is on it, but to be honest, I never heard of it before this post, and I'm fairly savvy with this stuff. Not a Linux user, so maybe that's why, but I'm just wondering if your DAW and your plugs can't "see" each other...

As far as your b-in-l writing a DAW program, you'd have to ask him. Obstacles-- expertise, time, interest. Is there some logical reason you don't want to be a reaper of the benefits of current technology, and try using one of the standard pro tools available already? Not on your sonar as of yet?*

GJ

* Didja see? Didja see what I did there??

te reason i want him to write one is...well idrk

k the only tutorials i can find to put vst's in lmms is for older ones. so ill just make do