How to find his own style ?

Wakeon

Hey everybody!!
I'm asking since a long time ago the same question : "How to find his own style" ?
Indeed, should I compose music i really like/love (even if it's very hard & difficult) or music I arrive to compose (tracks i know how to do).
Please help me :)
Thanks a lot,
Wakeon

each music creator has their own style that may be influenced by other producers. i'm a sample based producer so sometimes my work may be compared to the likes of dj premier, pete rock, 9th wonder, alchemist, etc. it would be good to adapt to multiple techniques. that will make you stand out more from other producers.

The more influences you have, the harder it becomes to pin down your stuff - which means it's becoming your own style. I don't think it's a black & white, this or that kind of thing but a gradual, nonlinear process.

I wouldn't worry too much about finding your own style. A lot of music is borrowed and redone. It's a cycle. Everybody has their own influences and tastes. Just make music you love to make. Even if you tried to sound like somebody, you can't. So have fun recreating someone else's technique, but just know in the end, you're going to sound like you, not anyone else. Sure people might call you out and say you sound too much like "so and so", but 95% of the time, all musicians will sound like another. Everybody makes DJ Mustard type beats, or Metro Boomin type beats. It's just what we do.

Having a unique sound is definitely a plus. If you copy, you can only be 2nd best. However what we create comes from influences of what we hear. Ray Charles was like hey, let's combine RnB with Gospel and invent something new, called "Soul". Be creative. Be Unique. :) And yes, loving what you do is all the fun of it.