how do some of ya make your melodies?

It comes in various ways, somtimes I will think of somthin, like hummin, I dont really know how I come up wit da melody in my head tho, then I go to the motif and mess wit the keys a lil, an bam....Like someone said before about doin a drum track and then a melody comes to mind...thats the way maybe 70% of my beats start. Then sometimes I could be playin on the keys, I just sit down and play sometimes...but come across a nice progression or somthin that catches my ear......YeUH

can i ask yall a question....when ur on ur keyboard do u press around to find the notes or does it come natural to yall to play a melody as in ur figers know what key to press to get a certain sound...cause i struggle finding the keys but i am a noob pianist, so i am hopin after my lessons i will know my piano like i know how to type on a pc keyboard.

thapi said:
can i ask yall a question....when ur on ur keyboard do u press around to find the notes or does it come natural to yall to play a melody as in ur figers know what key to press to get a certain sound...cause i struggle finding the keys but i am a noob pianist, so i am hopin after my lessons i will know my piano like i know how to type on a pc keyboard.
Hey Thapi:
Yeah... it will come naturally after enough practice. If you do vocal training along with your piano lessons and then combine them you'll be able to have a more natural flow.

You can start by singing each note as you play it. Eventually the melodies in your head will be one with your fingers on the keys.

Some Jazz pianists, like Keith Jarrett, sing/hum as the play. I think I've heard Stevie Wonder do it too.

JLoon219 said:
does it take you guys a long time to come up with a good melody. because i think i suck at making melodies. i make my melodies by putting the notes on by mouse i barely use my keyboard. what are steps in how ya make your melodies?