How do i start to become a dj?

D

Dj Mush

Hi,
I'm just learning to be a dj but frankly have no idea what steps i have to take to become one, i have no equipment and no idea how to dj, all i have is a good ear for music, a bit of skill on the drums and a passion for rave/trance. So please lend me a helping hand and give me some advice on what equipment i should get if i want to mix and compose my own techno, thanks a lot for all those who help.
Peace,
-Dj Mush-

I think someone replied to you in some other thread where you were asking the same questions. Welcome on the site by the way. Hope you'll learn from everyone here.

Take care

just in case you missed it....

Just in case you missed that other thread, (I did), you're gonna need 2 turntables, preferrably direct-drive, a mixer (to switch and fade between the signals from turntables), an amplifier, a pair of headphones, a pair of speakers, and cables to connect the decks, amp, mixer, and speakers. Oh, and of course, you're gonna need some records. ;-)

some suggestions

If ur just starting out then i dont think you need the amp and the speakers,,,just use a regular stereo system:D
eveyone has one of those
and u wont need the head fones wen u just starting out
so save up and get good headfones, they are really important

using ur regular stereo system while u are starting out can save u alot of money,,,arent u happy i suggested that?:D

oh and NEVER turn up ur music,,if ur gona be a dj
its like driving really slowly if you are a race car driver
its no good

and never listen to one thing for too long,,take breaks
keep those in mind and u will keep good ears:D

Selamat Tengahari

About your ears....

Wear an ear-plug when you enter clubs or so....like I do :).
Get use to it... All you fell is the basslines.
No hats no claps, no snare no damage!
Wear it, especially for 'us' who compose music....

Good ear, good hear, good mix, good tricks, good kicks, good chicks, good pick , good gig!

Take it easy,