That hardstyle kick.....total production rookie

NietZsky

Hello;

I'm fairly new to the forums, still getting the hang of maschine/massive/logic/etc. I've tried doing a little research on hard style/gabber kicks, and it's sounding like another language to me at the present =D. My tools:

Massive
Maschine
Reaktor
Kontakt
Logic Pro

Utilizing these tools, is it possible to make a decent sounding kick? I'd really like to make my own, as opposed to sampling another producers, but I don't have drumazon and don't know 1) how to tell which bass kicks will turn out to be good sounding for the style, 2) The function of oscillators, and how many I should use in making a kick. I'm familiar with EQing and adding distortion/bit crushing/etc., but I've yet to figure out where to begin with the kicks. Would anyone who has experience be willing to help out a total novice? Would be much obliged.

Add lots of Overdrive / distortion to your drum kick , If you want to have a Drum kick that can easily change pitch I suggest first make a Simple Kick in massive (youtube tutorials if you dont know how to make one)
Then add distortion and there you have it , you very own hardstyle kick :)

thank you so much. I was using ultrabeat/ camel crush and then logic's clip distortion, and I kept accidentally making gabber kicks (which works, because I plan on producing gabber and hardstyle). The advice is much appreciated.

-NietZsky

yes you can use ultrabeat in logic to create any type of kick you desire...it's all in the shape of the amp envelope, the shape of the pitch mod envelope as well as the decay times of those envelopes...

typically theyre made by combining 3 or more kicks which have their own qualities for the end sounds, low end, tone, body and high end. then each are distorted and eqd differently with plugins like ohmicide and camelphat and mixed down to get the final kick. theres some alright youtube videos showing it but cant remember the names of them