Freddy Todd

Trip Lykely

I've searched all over the interwebs but am struggling getting what I'm looking for. Long story short, I have no musical background but really like glitchy-bass music and would love to be able to make stuff like Freddy Todd. For those who've got ability, and patience, what skills/techniques can I look into (links to tutorials would be great) to begin making stuff like this. Any input on his bass/sound design would be appreciated as well. One thing I'm struggling finding is how to arrange drums like this also. A few good tutorials but most of them are way too basic.

I know this isn't a simple question/request but there is a lot of talent on this forum that I'm hoping to tap into. Any and all help is much appreciated.

(I'm aware my answers are probably buried in this forum, figuring out what terms to search to find those posts is my struggle)

PS I've been messing with FL Studio for a while and have it pretty well understood. Just starting to dive in Massive for sound design but have a hard time finding the right tutorials as I don't know what you'd call his basses (again, no musical background/experience). I've just got a new setup and can hear a lot more detail.

I understand this is a ridiculous request.

Last edited:
I don't hear a lot of bass on that track.. .lots of mid range distortion though :P

Anyways, getting the right tools is half the job (not quite but you catch my drift)
Massive is a good one to start with. From there I'd suggest FM8 because it does well.. FM.. hard to explain what that is and kind of ***** to learn..
but for this type of music: learn to love it!

If you really want to get serious about glitchy messed up sounds, there's none better than Reaktor.. bit hard to suggest that to a beginner though, the idea is you make
your own synths and effects with it. You don't have to because it comes with a huge library of synths, sequencers, samplers and effects.. and there's an even bigger user library..