"Formula" to play diffrent genres on midi keyboard-help

Vilz

I just got myself a midi keyboard and im new to this ****.
I have some knowledge about scales, chords and know somethin about progressions. Starting to learn drum programming.
I know all those music theory sites -those are very helpfull but not enough...
When im ... "playin" keys i cant really come up with good melody.
Can u tell me is there a formula to play piano for
Rock music, Soul , Rnb and pop [im into Hip Hop so anythin related-

For example: how should i play rhytimically ,wich chords should i use(& progressions), wich scales.. .. just some guidelines to get me started ..i know that i wont play like a pro in 1 day but i need some help to get me goin ... im not a quitter.

How should i practice playin ? Just playin scales up&down-u know it gets boring quickly.

I appreciate any help, u kno everybody has to start somewhere..

Hi Vilz,

Im don't have a lot of experience in this area as well since im a beginner my self. In my experience i've found it very easy to come up with melodies (well not #1 hitz ) :) when u practice your fav songs. Once you start playing u kinda start to understand patterns and the right feel for each genre. In the middle of a practice session it might come to you. And u start building from there.

I am not talking about copying! I dun know it will just come to you. Sometimes when i try to play by ear i mess up. But it leads to a melody of my own. So i forget about the original song for a while and start building mine.

As i have come to understand some of the most fav songs are just simple melodies. Thats what im trying to do. No complex chord progressoins for the time being. In my opinion if you start thinking about complex stuff and try to do what somebody's doing with a lot of experience in their bag you will get stuck. My theory is start simple and PRACTICING will lead you to more advance stuff..