Drums

Shanderick

I've been producing music for a couple of years and I want to make more professional beats. Using a lot of drum breaks has been the norm but I want to start making my own grooves. How do I get my kick, snare and hi hat to corporate with each other? I'm no musician so I don't know much about theory. Help me.

Hi!

Making your drums sound polished and tight has a lot to do with the drum samples as well as how they're mixed. The samples themselves depend on the style of music, but you can always use layering to your advantage. For example, say you're making a rock song. Using a rock drum kit is the obvious answer, but try layering the snare or the kick with some electronic samples and EQ them out so that they're not so prominent. This adds texture and weight to your drums. Same goes with other genres of music. Having a clap sound need not necessarily mean that it's just one clap sample. Layering the right samples will automatically make your kit start sounding homogeneous.

That's as far a sample selection goes. The rest depends on how you mix them together, and a lot can be done in this stage as well. Running your drums through bus compression with the right settings will automatically glue them together. Adding saturation and other harmonic distortion effects also helps.

For more detail, you can check this out: Mystic Alankar | Music Production

All the best!

Last edited:
Thanks! Should I be worried about what key my drum samples are in? To my understanding some drum samples have fundamental notes. If so, what do you recommend for finding the key?

Should I be worried about what key my drum samples are in?