do you want to instantly become better at making music?

Thats easy to say. But there is so much to learn I get overwhelmed and confused where to start and what exercises I can do to improve.

Do you know any exercises or tips to use? How did you learn?

Theory would be part of it, and you'll learn something new everday. I've been messing with beats for 5 years and I still suck. Lol. Nothing is up to par for me. Ear training is definetly number one. If you're doing this just to make beats then I suggest learning layering, it will take you very far. Layering will also help you train your ears, and as far as layering goes, EQ the hell out of stuff because it makes things sound so much better.

For the beginning producer it's going to get very frustrating but when you get to the point where you actually learn things, it's awesome.

Theory would be part of it, and you'll learn something new everday. I've been messing with beats for 5 years and I still suck. Lol. Nothing is up to par for me. Ear training is definetly number one. If you're doing this just to make beats then I suggest learning layering, it will take you very far. Layering will also help you train your ears, and as far as layering goes, EQ the hell out of stuff because it makes things sound so much better.

For the beginning producer it's going to get very frustrating but when you get to the point where you actually learn things, it's awesome.

What exercises do you do to train your ears?

As for the rest, start with a scale/mode type.

Learn the intervals within the scale/mode
Learn the intervals between any pair of notes within the scale/mode both ascending and descending
Learn how to construct the chords for that scale/mode

For the major scale:

C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C -> M2-M2-m2-M2-M2-M2-m2 -> T-T-S-T-T-T-S

Ascending intervals
NoteCDEFGABCDEFGAB
CUnisonM2M3P4P5M6M7P8------
D-UnisonM2m3P4P5M6m7P8-----
E--Unisonm2m3P4P5m6m7P8----
F---UnisonM2M3A4P5M6M7P8---
G----UnisonM2M3P4P5M6m7P8--