Is this the difference between Melody and Harmony?

MarkySoliloquy

I know many of you think this is a simple question but again I'm a noob lol.

So with that out of the way based on my understanding Melody is what is composed as the main part of the song with the main chords and that sort of thing. Harmony is the accompaniment to fill it out more.

Am I correct?

In simple terms:
Melody-Single notes (what the soloist is singing)

Harmony-Chords and chord progression (groupings of notes played simultaneously) (think of an acoustic guitar player strumming chords)

Melody is not chords.
Melody is one note at a time. could be any notes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UtF6Jej8yb4
This song is a good example. There is a melody at 0.59 which is the same as the melody the singer is singing. The part which comes in at 1.13 is quite melody like but IMO too repetitive to count as a proper melody.
Melody is also not a riff, but it's harder to say how. A riff is shorter, more repetitive, and rhymically a bit more funky than a melody and could be either single notes or chords- I guess a bit like a bassline but not bass.

Tbh I would say 90% of electronic music and beats have no melody at all, just chords or riffs- but that doesn't stop people using the word 'melody' to describe basslines or riffs or chords.

It's quite hard to categorize all these things and they all blur into each other a bit if you have short melodies or long riffs or broken chords or whatever. A good rule of thumb is the part the singer is singing is 99% of the time a melody.

Last edited:
mel·o·dy
ˈmelədē/
noun
[COLOR=#878787 !important][/COLOR]

• a sequence of single notes that is musically satisfying.

har·mo·ny
    ˈhärmənē/
    noun
    [COLOR=#878787 !important][/COLOR]

the combination of simultaneously sounded musical notes to produce chords and chord progressions having a pleasing effect.