Chord Progression? Need help.

MilDlrDime

Chrap-a-holic
Okay I'm looking at a chord house trying to learn chords and I'm wondering about chord progression.
I'm really new to theory so I'm not even sure if I'm doing this right but I'll try to give an example.

Let's say I'm playing in A minor and the chords go:

A-C-E -- D-F-A -- E-G-B -- D-F-A

I'm a bit confused, what would I move to for the next 4 progression? Do I always stay in A minor chords? How do I really write it?

Last edited:
Either you repeat the same chords over and over in a loop, which is ok but not great.

Or you move to a different progression in Am: say hypothetically Am- C - F -F

Or you move to a different key ( called modulating). I would say that the most obvious keys to modulate to would be C major (relative major), E minor (dominant) or D minor (subdominant), but you can move to almost any key, there are various techniques for smoothing the transition which I cba to go into detail here.

Also, can I add here not to make your chord changes too fast- it's a common beginner mistake. 1 chord per bar is plenty fast enough, some might say too fast, 1 chord every 2 or even 4 bars can better.

Okay I'm looking at a chord house trying to learn chords and I'm wondering about chord progression.
I'm really new to theory so I'm not even sure if I'm doing this right but I'll try to give an example.

Let's say I'm playing in A minor and the chords go:

A-C-E -- D-F-A -- E-G-B -- D-F-A

I'm a bit confused, what would I move to for the next 4 progression? Do I always stay in A minor chords? How do I really write it?

so your first progression Am- Dm -Em-Dm, which is cool

maybe next you think about substituting F for Dm and G for Em, like so

A-C-E -- C-F-A -- D-G-B -- C-F-A

other things you can do is to take your progression and rotate it left or right by 1 bar, 2 bars, 3 bars: note that RotR1=RotL3, RotR2=RotL2 and RotR3=RotL1

RotR1RotL1
D-F-A -- E-G-B -- D-F-A -- A-C-E
C-F-A -- D-G-B -- C-F-A -- A-C-E