can too much piano practice cause weak and sloppy hands the next day?

dmajor100

for the last few days i been practicing scales,fast hanon,and minor 9ths chords till basically my hands felt tired mail cause i want to have very good muscle memory in my hands. There are often times when jumping back to practice that my hands and fingers are completely sloppy and I'm fallen goff on things i got down to perfection a few days ago. Is piano practice just like working out and do i need to rest of a few days till my hands are recovered and strong again. i thought it was always a good rule to practice every single day even for hrs if you had the time.

i'm not an expert, but your body always needs recovery time. Maybe you should switch up your routine, exercises one day, practicing songs (nothing to intense) the next day. Also, I'm sure your diet is contributing to your recovery time. my 2 cents. I'm sure the virtuoso cats have some better suggestions.

Are you practicing songs, too?
If not, do that. Those drills aren't meant to be done excessively, but as warmups.

no i don't do songs at all and really have never done those kinda practices all i really do is scales,chords and few the last few days i been trying to memorized all my minor 9th inversions.As far as hanon exercises ivr been using my metronome in logic to keep a steady beat and try to go as fast as i can with complete fouces and not messing up.

no i don't do songs at all and really have never done those kinda practices all i really do is scales,chords