Can I make good music with only Rebirth?

fleece

I always find it fascinating how other people fully utilize Rebirth. I'm new to rebirth, and i want to make good music. Is there any other softwares i can use with rebirth to create better tunes? Or do i need to purchase hardware? Is hardware really necessary to produce good music? Where can i read and what can i do to improve my techniques in makeing better music?

fleece said:
...Is there any other softwares i can use with rebirth to create better tunes...

Get REASON. It is superior in features. However its doesnt 'replace' rebirth. use both.

If you want to go beyond the 303 sounds of rebirth, you should really get Reason. Its made by the same people. Also, check ORION. Orion is almost free and some people think it is as good as reason. I dont have much experience with it so I dont know.

Good luck
dont hesitate to ask more questions
take care
:)

Rebirth is way too limited in sound to make full compositions, but it is rather a nice addition when using also other synths/samples.

Maybe you can get a good sequencer, for example Cubase or Logic Audio, and connect Rebirth/Reason with it. They can be used later also if you buy hardware..

he's right
u can connect u're rebirth with logic or cubase, or any other external equip.

the answer you seek, my son...

This is a rahter profound topic to get into, but sometimes limitations arent a bad thing. The push an artist to innovate and develop things to modify the sound and truly develop something that is of their own style. here's what i'd suggest- Learn to USE rebirth inside and out...make compositions, etc. and then learn to use a wav editor on your sounds to make things interesting. I'd much rather see someone learn and develop tricks on their own instead of more repetition. You have a good start- just remember that just because it says you have two 303's doesnt mean that you can't combine tracks to add more :)

- The LODGER

I downloaded Reason, and now what?