which came first: the beat or the melody?

J

jkung

sup yall
i am an artist in china workin on a few demos and have been wonderin how you R&B cats do it....

for hip hop, i try to just get a beat i like and spit on top of it and have a good hook after hearing the beat....

for R&B i usually try to write a good hook and record into my pen recorded before touching anything, even a piano. then after song is 60%, go make a demo. i am talking vocal melody, not guitar hooks or the beat.

how do you think the big dogs in america do it? i am from LA so i hear everyhing but sometimes i wonder when justin was workin with the neps, was it the beat first and then the song or song first then the beat.....

holla back
j

Last edited by a moderator:
In my opinion it can be either or. There doesn't have to be a set way. It's just however it gets done in my opinion. If you got lyrics already formed you have a sort of idea of how your picturing the track to be so have an outline sort of for the track already. But if you hear a beat you like and then you start writing to it you go that way.

To me it's which ever way works for you. As long as you get a hot track I see no reason why it should matter. I doubt anyone actually does it one way and only one way though.

sup dog
yeah i am feelin dat. i am just trying to find that perfect mix between the beat and the vocal melody.....its hard bein an artist because i only make very basic beats to get a demo across. i am not a producer yet. so i usually writw songs but sometimes they may be a 2 chord song it a catchy hook but often times i get a beat bakc that is weak and ruins the image i had in my head.....

keep em comin

j

I don't think it really matter what the big dogs in America do, all dogs bite ;) lol.

Sorry, anyway, whatever works for you is the best way to go about it.