Building Better Melodys

daviddavid123

Whats up everybody! I've been making beats for about 2 years and I love it. But I've hit a wall with my melodys. Drums make sense to me (not saying I'm the best at drums, they're just coming more easily) but my melodys are weak. I know theory, but I find my self lacking in creativity in all aspects. What sounds to use, how to play melodys off each other, how many layers to use etc. Even when I get a good melody going its never full and layering sounds just makes it weaker. could anyone give me advice for layering intsruments, making melodys, counter melodys etc. My production influences are Hit Boy, Metro Boomin, Sonny Digital etc. so I don't need crazy theory, just advice for more solid melodys.

I suggest listening to music that emphasizes melody for inspiration. For me, listening to jazz improved my creative process greatly. I began memorizing the heads of different jazz tunes I liked and working to understand not only how those melodies affected me, but how I could replicate that same effect for my own music.
One of my favorites is Stolen Moments

Well put, I completely agree. I also suggest having a keyboard always on (seperate from your midi/controller) next to you when you produce.
This way regardless of what your doing with your computer and controller. You have some keys next to you to reference and play with.
Also, when you are listening to your influences, go ahead and try to find the keys that are in tune with the track. After that find some chords in the track with your keyboard.
This can actually be alot of fun when you get in the zone. I like using good electric piano or rhodes sounds so you can play under the tracks.

Hope this helps. Im actually want to hear what everyone else does.

Last edited:
Well put, I completely agree. I also suggest having a keyboard always on (seperate from your midi/controller) next to you when you produce.