Associated Board Grade 5 theory

G.E.PRODUCTIONS

Can someone please explain what exactly does Associated Board Grade 5 theory include? (Preferably Bandcoach since he's a teacher)

I've signed up for a course for which I'm paying quite a lot of money so I want to make sure that I'm prepared, to make the most out of it.They mention that what I already need to know is
roughly equivalent to Grade 5 music theory or GCSE Music.I probably already know that already but I can't be sure because I'm self taught so far.

Also,I will be reading a lot of scores in this course.I already know how to read the treble and bass clef but going through some orchestral scores I've noticed this type of clef and I don't know what it is or how to read it: (it's the third one)

http://cnx.org/content/m10941/latest/ClefPractice.png

that is the C clef (the other two are known as the G clef (treble clef) and the F clef (bass clef)).

It is important to know that each clef represents the fixed position of a given note , the naming note of each clef the G clef is the G above Middle C, the F clef is the F below middle C and the C clef is middle C

in that picture

ClefPractice.png

these are called the Treble clef, the Bass clef and the Alto clef, because they are used for those voice types.

If you move the treble clef so that it has the middle loop resting on the bottom line then it becomes the Soprano clef;

If you move the F clef so that the two dots sit either side of the middle line it is known as the Baritone clef;

If you move the C clef so that the arrow sits on the second line form the top it is now the Tenor clef.

There are other names for other positions but these are the six main ones

A vocal part for a Tenor may also be written the same as the Treble clef but with an 8va next to the lower loop indicating that teh pitch is sounded one octave below - this is also called a Tenor clef by some theorists

as for the ABSRM content