Ask me any questions about Theory/Composing techniques/orchestration/arranging.

jaycentury

I'm able to help anyone with any questions regarding Theory/Composing techniques/orchestration/arranging and even piano tips to practicing.

What i learned by being a part of this industry is that noone is "Self-Made". Everyone has gotten help from everyone, and thats a fact.

Ask Away!

Jason Kellner
Film Composer/Orchestrator/Arranger/Music Copyist/Pianist
Montreal, Canada

We don't need you, we can just ask Bandcoach instead! :D

How much do you know about jazz piano?

Last edited:
I studied jazz piano for a little over 6 years now so I wouldn't say I'm a beginner. Anything I could help you with?

I am working on my sight reading atm. Any tips/suggestions? I play guitar, studied a bit of piano at school, and am studying jazz music.

I am working on my sight reading atm. Any tips/suggestions? I play guitar, studied a bit of piano at school, and am studying jazz music.

Sightreading just requires you to plow through different songs and see how far you could get through it. Thats how I do It at least. To practice sightreading, open up a piece of music, put a metronome on at somewhat of a slow speed depending on your level (I would say 60 BPM). And then try and get through as far as you can. Remember the most important thing your learning by sight reading is the rhythms. So if theres a certain rhythm you can't play, tap or clap it out. Repetition is key.

I'm able to help anyone with any questions regarding Theory/Composing techniques/orchestration/arranging and even piano tips to practicing.

What i learned by being a part of this industry is that noone is "Self-Made". Everyone has gotten help from everyone, and thats a fact.

Ask Away!

welcome, take the load off me, a little, maybe

make sure you go to your settings/preferences and turn on that you want your signature to show up in every post
- I have taken what you had and put it into a signature ready for you